Koozali.org formerly Contribs.org

Contribs.org Forums => SME Server 10.x => Topic started by: guest22 on June 20, 2017, 10:37:43 PM

Title: Who gave SME Sever 10Alpha3 a test run?
Post by: guest22 on June 20, 2017, 10:37:43 PM
As per title, please share your experiences here. Please give it a try as a very easy VM test run, we need your feedback.

Please see our Dashboard wiki page where we are atm: https://wiki.contribs.org/Dashboard#tab=SME_Server_10_Alpha

TIA!
Title: Re: Who gave SME Sever 10Alpha3 a test run?
Post by: idp_qbn on July 04, 2017, 01:19:59 PM
I have installed it as a VM and checked that it runs and I can access Server-Manager using PuTTY. I have not tested more than that yet. Perhaps by the end of the week ...... looks good so far. I used the graphical installer to build it, the first time I have seen it. Very exciting. Thanks.
 :-)
Cheers
Ian
Title: Re: Who gave SME Sever 10Alpha3 a test run?
Post by: morpheus on July 06, 2017, 02:56:08 PM
Graphical installer looks good, selected language then a problem which prevents me installing - reported a bug in Anaconda
Title: Re: Who gave SME Sever 10Alpha3 a test run?
Post by: gyrcom on July 17, 2017, 10:10:27 PM
I've been playing around with this for a while. I for the life of me cannot figure out how to get the A3 to build a raid 5 disk array with the 5 disks I have installed.
The system sees them ok, anaconda sees them ok, the system always installs on one disk. The install works correctly, just no raid. Horde works, my transfer from 8 works no other issues found so far.
9.2 is a dream to use, the best so far of the SME series and I have been using it since 5.(2000). The graphical install of 10 is pretty,,, unfortunately pretty confusing.
 
Title: Re: Who gave SME Sever 10Alpha3 a test run?
Post by: gyrcom on July 17, 2017, 10:14:02 PM
Ah, also one of my motherboards is a zotac with an amd apu with radeon graphics,,, no go on the graphical stuff as there are driver issues with the embedded video.
All my other systems work well though. I installed 9.2 on the zotac, got video driver errors but the install completed properly.
Title: Re: Who gave SME Sever 10Alpha3 a test run?
Post by: janet on July 18, 2017, 04:59:04 AM
gyrcom

There needs to be hardware (motherboard chipset video graphics etc) compatibility with the underlying Linux version that sme server uses.

For sme10A3 it is based on CentOS 7.2.1511 and all available updates

For sme 9.2 it is based on CentOS 6.9 and all available updates

Details start here
https://wiki.contribs.org/Main_Page

To test your hardware to see if compatible with the underlying Linux version, download & install the appropriate CentOS version as listed above.
If you have problems installing CentOS then you are likely to have problems installing SME server, so in that case you may need to chose more compatible hardware.
Sometimes you can turn off advanced features in the BIOS as a workaround where there are limited compatibility issues, and/or disable onboard components that are known to be incompatible & use add on plug in expansion boards to perform those functions eg NIC, graphics, where suitable drivers are not available for the onboard product.
Title: Re: Who gave SME Sever 10Alpha3 a test run?
Post by: brianr on July 18, 2017, 08:31:28 AM
I've installed V10 on a VM and used it for testing (php based) websites. All works very well as far as I can see.
Title: Re: Who gave SME Sever 10Alpha3 a test run?
Post by: TerryF on July 18, 2017, 08:58:55 AM
Multiple installs of i386 x86-64, Netinstall

Netsinstall iso is faulty - see bug submitted

x86-64 iso
Graphic install screen,
A minor annoyance but as I am doing multi installs etc its getting to me :-)

The graphical screen that appears during the copying of files preparing
for first reboot has what I presume is a "news" ticker at the bottom
that displays various features of Koozali SME..

The formatting of the window chops off the first 4-5 characters at the
left margin, ugly look..can someone have a look at fixing the formatting
please..its beginning to cause me issues :-)

Koozali branding/colours - OK
User Settings form - Koozali info at bottom of screen is obscured on left side, does not fit the form.

Boot screen graphic would be better slightly smaller say 15%, otherwise is OK

Not a fan of the mixed install modes, new graphic forms and then older anaconda installer. One or the other would be better.

First yum update worked OK, nss and sudo updates

Console
1 - OK
2 - OK
3 - doesn't work
4 - OK
5 - OK (not fully tested)
6 - can start elinks and login
7 - OK
8 - OK, backup to USB
9 - OK, restore from USB

System reboot immediately after restore - OK
 
Server-Manager
still testing/using but so far functionality is there - OK

Windows 10 or sme10 needs configs tinkering to get samba to play see links, can confirm all work:

https://lists.samba.org/archive/samba/2016-November/204801.html
https://www.tenforums.com/network-sharing/21700-cannot-connect-samba-shares-centos7.html
https://www.tenforums.com/network-sharing/74699-creating-samba-share-windows-10-a.html

and now well on the way to 100mb+ of updates already :-(
Title: Re: Who gave SME Sever 10Alpha3 a test run?
Post by: Jean-Philippe Pialasse on July 18, 2017, 04:50:48 PM

and now well on the way to 100mb+ of updates already :-(

that is what happens with highly maintained OS. On Fedora 25, I get 400Mo every 2 weeks... and the more you wait, the less you have to download as usually this is the same packages that get updated over and over...
Title: Re: Who gave SME Sever 10Alpha3 a test run?
Post by: guest22 on July 18, 2017, 04:52:25 PM
For testing purposes and as a service to our community, we could release a new alpha. Release notes would be limited, but service would be greatly enhanced.
Title: Re: Who gave SME Sever 10Alpha3 a test run?
Post by: Franco on January 08, 2018, 12:14:26 AM
Hi,

I installed and I was using SME10alpha3 with success.
Today after reading the problems that people were having issues with samba, I decided to update and samba stopped working, it runs but no one can access the shares.
I'm looking into the bugtrackers to see if it can be fixed:
Code: [Select]
@400000005a52a48900f7fe54 tdb_mutex_open_ok[/var/lib/samba/smbprofile.tdb]: Can use mutexes only with MUTEX_LOCKING or NOLOCK
@400000005a52a489027e38c4 Failed to open /var/lib/samba/smbprofile.tdb
Title: Re: Who gave SME Sever 10Alpha3 a test run?
Post by: TerryF on January 08, 2018, 12:41:21 AM
Hi,

I installed and I was using SME10alpha3 with success.
Today after reading the problems that people were having issues with samba, I decided to update and samba stopped working, it runs but no one can access the shares.
I'm looking into the bugtrackers to see if it can be fixed:
Code: [Select]
@400000005a52a48900f7fe54 tdb_mutex_open_ok[/var/lib/samba/smbprofile.tdb]: Can use mutexes only with MUTEX_LOCKING or NOLOCK
@400000005a52a489027e38c4 Failed to open /var/lib/samba/smbprofile.tdb

Forum discussion here, mostly out of our hands..

https://forums.contribs.org/index.php/topic,53323.0/topicseen.html
Title: Re: Who gave SME Sever 10Alpha3 a test run?
Post by: gyrcom on January 08, 2018, 04:39:37 AM
Forum discussion here, mostly out of our hands..

https://forums.contribs.org/index.php/topic,53323.0/topicseen.html

I have been digging into this problem as I am getting Flask to work in the Primary ibay, works well, Flask uses Python 2.7 or higher, so 10 is much easier to install on than an altinstall on 9.2.

The Samba problem is a real bugger, the base alpha3 install works perfectly for my purpose. Once the updates are installed with yum with (yum update smeserver-support -y), Samba takes a dump.

My research seems to point to python-tevent, the most recent update of this has had problems in the centos forums.

I've tried to update with --exclude=python-tevent, to no avail due to dependencies,,, well this is just a test server, so no problem yet.

User since sme 5, love this system, chomping at the bit to see 10 in production. Many many thanks to the individuals that work on this.
Title: Re: Who gave SME Sever 10Alpha3 a test run?
Post by: TerryF on January 08, 2018, 06:43:48 AM
I have been digging into this problem as I am getting Flask to work in the Primary ibay, works well, Flask uses Python 2.7 or higher, so 10 is much easier to install on than an altinstall on 9.2.

The Samba problem is a real bugger, the base alpha3 install works perfectly for my purpose. Once the updates are installed with yum with (yum update smeserver-support -y), Samba takes a dump.

My research seems to point to python-tevent, the most recent update of this has had problems in the centos forums.

I've tried to update with --exclude=python-tevent, to no avail due to dependencies,,, well this is just a test server, so no problem yet.

User since sme 5, love this system, chomping at the bit to see 10 in production. Many many thanks to the individuals that work on this.

Sweet, looks to be a different issue, unfortunately...
Title: Re: Who gave SME Sever 10Alpha3 a test run?
Post by: Jean-Philippe Pialasse on January 08, 2018, 03:55:22 PM
Disclaimer : SME10 is still early alpha, so not for production. Every updates might, and will probably brake something, and it is not guaranteed an alpha system will be able to make it to final without a full reinstall because of major changes. Further more multiple issues including security issues might be present during this alpha phase.

Considering your issue with samba update, can you post the yum transaction? Samba should not update from upstream, and should be updated only from sme build packages. Should have been fixed here  https://bugs.contribs.org/show_bug.cgi?id=10155 but some were missed so this is fixed there https://bugs.contribs.org/show_bug.cgi?id=10428 so you need to update smeserver-suport from smeupdates-testing repo.


Your real solution : install python software collection version suitable for your software on SME 9.
Title: Re: Who gave SME Sever 10Alpha3 a test run?
Post by: Franco on January 09, 2018, 02:19:11 AM
Thanks all, at least now I know I'm not alone!

About the errors, I know it's a early "late" product, but I've tried every single alpha/beta since SME5, and I'm aching to see samba4 in action ;-)

After the updates, the samba protocol, nmbd to be more precisely, does not work. Be it Windows, Mac or linux.
So it's not related to Windows 10.

I fixed by regressing libtevent-0.9.28-1.el7.x86_64.rpm.
Uninstall the 0.9.31 and install the earlier version and restart samba.

Thanks,


Title: Re: Who gave SME Sever 10Alpha3 a test run?
Post by: edb on April 26, 2018, 07:03:47 AM
Could you explain how exactly you fix this as I am not successful in removing libtevent-0.9.31-2.el7_4.x86_64 as too many dependencies.
Can you provide the commands you used to accomplish the removal back to  libtevent-0.9.28-1.el7.x86_64.rpm?
Thank you

-edb
Title: Re: Who gave SME Sever 10Alpha3 a test run?
Post by: Jean-Philippe Pialasse on April 26, 2018, 06:05:38 PM
Could you explain how exactly you fix this as I am not successful in removing libtevent-0.9.31-2.el7_4.x86_64 as too many dependencies.
Can you provide the commands you used to accomplish the removal back to  libtevent-0.9.28-1.el7.x86_64.rpm?
Thank you

-edb
Code: [Select]
yum update smeserver-yum --enablerepo=smeupdates-testing -y
signal-event yum-modify
yum downgrade libtevent  --disablerepo=* --enablerepo=smeupdates-testing,smeos,smeupdates



should do

then you can use regular update

Title: Re: Who gave SME Sever 10Alpha3 a test run?
Post by: Franco on April 26, 2018, 06:48:12 PM
Hi,

Or just do like I did:
rpm -e libtevent-0.9.31-2.el7_4.x86_64

and install the the older one.

Thanks,
Title: Re: Who gave SME Sever 10Alpha3 a test run?
Post by: edb on April 26, 2018, 07:15:23 PM
Thank you for the response but when I tried it I got the following errors:
Code: [Select]
==============================================================
[root@smeserver-10 ~]# signal-event yum-modify
[root@smeserver-10 ~]# yum downgrade libtevent  --disablerepo=* --enablerepo=sme
updates-testing,smeos,smeupdates
Loaded plugins: fastestmirror, post-transaction-actions, smeserver
Loading mirror speeds from cached hostfile
 * smeos: mirror.canada.pialasse.com
 * smeupdates: mirror.canada.pialasse.com
 * smeupdates-testing: mirror.canada.pialasse.com
Resolving Dependencies
--> Running transaction check
---> Package libtevent.x86_64 0:0.9.28-1.el7 will be a downgrade
---> Package libtevent.x86_64 0:0.9.31-2.el7_4 will be erased
--> Finished Dependency Resolution
Error: Package: python-tevent-0.9.31-2.el7_4.x86_64 (@smeupdates)
           Requires: libtevent(x86-64) = 0.9.31-2.el7_4
           Removing: libtevent-0.9.31-2.el7_4.x86_64 (@smeupdates)
               libtevent(x86-64) = 0.9.31-2.el7_4
           Downgraded By: libtevent-0.9.28-1.el7.x86_64 (smeos)
               libtevent(x86-64) = 0.9.28-1.el7
 You could try using --skip-broken to work around the problem
 You could try running: rpm -Va --nofiles --nodigest
[root@smeserver-10 ~]# rpm -q libtevent
libtevent-0.9.31-2.el7_4.x86_64
[root@smeserver-10 ~]#
Title: Re: Who gave SME Sever 10Alpha3 a test run?
Post by: Jean-Philippe Pialasse on April 26, 2018, 08:37:35 PM
Thank you for the response but when I tried it I got the following errors:
Code: [Select]
==============================================================
[root@smeserver-10 ~]# signal-event yum-modify
[root@smeserver-10 ~]# yum downgrade libtevent  --disablerepo=* --enablerepo=sme
updates-testing,smeos,smeupdates
Loaded plugins: fastestmirror, post-transaction-actions, smeserver
Loading mirror speeds from cached hostfile
 * smeos: mirror.canada.pialasse.com
 * smeupdates: mirror.canada.pialasse.com
 * smeupdates-testing: mirror.canada.pialasse.com
Resolving Dependencies
--> Running transaction check
---> Package libtevent.x86_64 0:0.9.28-1.el7 will be a downgrade
---> Package libtevent.x86_64 0:0.9.31-2.el7_4 will be erased
--> Finished Dependency Resolution
Error: Package: python-tevent-0.9.31-2.el7_4.x86_64 (@smeupdates)
           Requires: libtevent(x86-64) = 0.9.31-2.el7_4
           Removing: libtevent-0.9.31-2.el7_4.x86_64 (@smeupdates)
               libtevent(x86-64) = 0.9.31-2.el7_4
           Downgraded By: libtevent-0.9.28-1.el7.x86_64 (smeos)
               libtevent(x86-64) = 0.9.28-1.el7
 You could try using --skip-broken to work around the problem
 You could try running: rpm -Va --nofiles --nodigest
[root@smeserver-10 ~]# rpm -q libtevent
libtevent-0.9.31-2.el7_4.x86_64
[root@smeserver-10 ~]#

then

yum update smeserver-yum --enablerepo=smeupdates-testing -y
signal-event yum-modify
yum downgrade libtevent  python-tevent --disablerepo=* --enablerepo=smeupdates-testing,smeos,smeupdates
Title: Re: Who gave SME Sever 10Alpha3 a test run?
Post by: edb on April 26, 2018, 09:28:21 PM
Ok the new commands worked perfectly. Thank you very much!

Code: [Select]
[root@smeserver-10 ~]# yum downgrade libtevent  --disablerepo=* --enablerepo=sme
updates-testing,smeos,smeupdates
Loaded plugins: fastestmirror, post-transaction-actions, smeserver
Loading mirror speeds from cached hostfile
 * smeos: mirror.canada.pialasse.com
 * smeupdates: mirror.canada.pialasse.com
 * smeupdates-testing: mirror.canada.pialasse.com
Resolving Dependencies
--> Running transaction check
---> Package libtevent.x86_64 0:0.9.28-1.el7 will be a downgrade
---> Package libtevent.x86_64 0:0.9.31-2.el7_4 will be erased
--> Finished Dependency Resolution
Error: Package: python-tevent-0.9.31-2.el7_4.x86_64 (@smeupdates)
           Requires: libtevent(x86-64) = 0.9.31-2.el7_4
           Removing: libtevent-0.9.31-2.el7_4.x86_64 (@smeupdates)
               libtevent(x86-64) = 0.9.31-2.el7_4
           Downgraded By: libtevent-0.9.28-1.el7.x86_64 (smeos)
               libtevent(x86-64) = 0.9.28-1.el7
 You could try using --skip-broken to work around the problem
 You could try running: rpm -Va --nofiles --nodigest
[root@smeserver-10 ~]# rpm -q libtevent
libtevent-0.9.31-2.el7_4.x86_64
[root@smeserver-10 ~]# yum update smeserver-yum --enablerepo=smeupdates-testing -y
Loaded plugins: fastestmirror, post-transaction-actions, smeserver
Loading mirror speeds from cached hostfile
 * base: mirror.netflash.net
 * smeaddons: mirror.canada.pialasse.com
 * smeextras: mirror.canada.pialasse.com
 * smeos: mirror.canada.pialasse.com
 * smeupdates: mirror.canada.pialasse.com
 * smeupdates-testing: mirror.canada.pialasse.com
 * updates: mirror2.evolution-host.com
No packages marked for update
[root@smeserver-10 ~]# signal-event yum-modify
[root@smeserver-10 ~]# yum downgrade libtevent  python-tevent --disablerepo=* --
enablerepo=smeupdates-testing,smeos,smeupdates
Loaded plugins: fastestmirror, post-transaction-actions, smeserver
Loading mirror speeds from cached hostfile
 * smeos: mirror.canada.pialasse.com
 * smeupdates: mirror.canada.pialasse.com
 * smeupdates-testing: mirror.canada.pialasse.com
Resolving Dependencies
--> Running transaction check
---> Package libtevent.x86_64 0:0.9.28-1.el7 will be a downgrade
---> Package libtevent.x86_64 0:0.9.31-2.el7_4 will be erased
---> Package python-tevent.x86_64 0:0.9.28-1.el7 will be a downgrade
---> Package python-tevent.x86_64 0:0.9.31-2.el7_4 will be erased
--> Finished Dependency Resolution

Dependencies Resolved

================================================================================
 Package               Arch           Version               Repository     Size
================================================================================
Downgrading:
 libtevent             x86_64         0.9.28-1.el7          smeos          34 k
 python-tevent         x86_64         0.9.28-1.el7          smeos          17 k

Transaction Summary
================================================================================
Downgrade  2 Packages

Total download size: 51 k
Is this ok [y/d/N]: y
Downloading packages:
(1/2): libtevent-0.9.28-1.el7.x86_64.rpm                   |  34 kB   00:00
(2/2): python-tevent-0.9.28-1.el7.x86_64.rpm               |  17 kB   00:00
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Total                                               91 kB/s |  51 kB  00:00
Running transaction check
Running transaction test
Transaction test succeeded
Running transaction
  Installing : libtevent-0.9.28-1.el7.x86_64                                1/4
  Installing : python-tevent-0.9.28-1.el7.x86_64                            2/4
  Cleanup    : python-tevent-0.9.31-2.el7_4.x86_64                          3/4
  Cleanup    : libtevent-0.9.31-2.el7_4.x86_64                              4/4
  Verifying  : python-tevent-0.9.28-1.el7.x86_64                            1/4
  Verifying  : libtevent-0.9.28-1.el7.x86_64                                2/4
  Verifying  : libtevent-0.9.31-2.el7_4.x86_64                              3/4
  Verifying  : python-tevent-0.9.31-2.el7_4.x86_64                          4/4

Removed:
  libtevent.x86_64 0:0.9.31-2.el7_4    python-tevent.x86_64 0:0.9.31-2.el7_4

Installed:
  libtevent.x86_64 0:0.9.28-1.el7      python-tevent.x86_64 0:0.9.28-1.el7

Complete!
[root@smeserver-10 ~]# rpm -q libtevent
libtevent-0.9.28-1.el7.x86_64

[root@smeserver-10 ~]# samba --version
Version 4.4.4
[root@smeserver-10 ~]#

Title: Re: Who gave SME Sever 10Alpha3 a test run?
Post by: Jean-Philippe Pialasse on April 26, 2018, 09:32:41 PM
exclude libtevent and python-tevent from update untill some fix is out

I have openned a bug there : https://bugs.contribs.org/show_bug.cgi?id=10573
Title: Re: Who gave SME Sever 10Alpha3 a test run?
Post by: edb on April 26, 2018, 10:02:22 PM
Great ... thank you very much Jean.

-edb
Title: Re: Who gave SME Sever 10Alpha3 a test run?
Post by: edb on May 28, 2018, 06:12:04 PM
exclude libtevent and python-tevent from update untill some fix is out

I have openned a bug there : https://bugs.contribs.org/show_bug.cgi?id=10573

Has this been corrected yet? Just curious because I see version 4.6.2 now and libtevent-0.9.33-2.el7.x86_64

Is a downgrade necessary again or is it ok now.
Thanks
Title: Re: Who gave SME Sever 10Alpha3 a test run?
Post by: Jean-Philippe Pialasse on May 28, 2018, 06:55:34 PM
Has this been corrected yet? Just curious because I see version 4.6.2 now and libtevent-0.9.33-2.el7.x86_64

Is a downgrade necessary again or is it ok now.
Thanks

It should work with the last available version.
However if you did not update for a while I stroingly suggest to first update smeserver-yum and smeserver-support
first  and the remaining rpm after
Title: Re: Who gave SME Sever 10Alpha3 a test run?
Post by: edb on May 28, 2018, 07:07:51 PM
It should work with the last available version.
However if you did not update for a while I stroingly suggest to first update smeserver-yum and smeserver-support
first  and the remaining rpm after

Great thank you!
Title: Re: Who gave SME Sever 10Alpha3 a test run?
Post by: krisden on October 16, 2018, 06:50:23 PM
Hello  :cool:

Take a try today on test-server + usb bootable key
dvd-iso downloaded from here : https://wiki.koozali.org/SME_Server:Download
Checksum is ok

I'm facing this error after choosing "install sme-server" (process begin and stop on) :
Code: [Select]
please insert CDROM containing /Packages/base/sme-kickstart.cfg
Should I feeling a bug ?

--
Christophe
Title: Re: Who gave SME Sever 10Alpha3 a test run?
Post by: TerryF on October 16, 2018, 09:19:56 PM
Have not seen that error before, doesn't mean not to file a bug, always best practice to do that

How did you create the USB, what did you use to set it up.

What hardware are you trying to install to..

The more info you provide the better..
Title: Re: Who gave SME Sever 10Alpha3 a test run?
Post by: krisden on October 17, 2018, 09:59:17 AM
How did you create the USB, what did you use to set it up.
It's a 4GB Transcend Jetflash ; I've restored iso file on my Debian pc with Gnome-Disk-Utility
Boot is ok ; took a try this morning in pluging usb key in rear of the server => same issue

Quote
What hardware are you trying to install to..
IBM X3200M1 (bios 1.42 / cpu=x3050 / 4*1GB pc2-5300E / 4*73GB sas on lsi 1064e raid1 ime / 1*ide dvd reader / 1*Tandberg RDX)
All bios and firmware updated

Quote
The more info you provide the better..
Can't ssh for the moment but I've took a picture (in attachment) ; /dev/sdb is the key
Title: Re: Who gave SME Sever 10Alpha3 a test run?
Post by: krisden on October 17, 2018, 10:25:04 AM
Short story, this is a bug because I've edit the grub menu entry and replace the two "cdrom" occurence by "usb" and it's work  :smile:
I've mounted the media on my pc to browse the usb-key files : /sme-server/isolinux/isolinux.cfg doen't contain any option for usb

Title: Re: Who gave SME Sever 10Alpha3 a test run?
Post by: TerryF on October 17, 2018, 11:43:00 AM
No exp with the hardware, others may have..

I am not familiar with using Gnome Disk Tools, again others may..

You could try creating the usb using dd as described in the wiki Creating the USB stick on Linux (https://wiki.contribs.org/Install_From_USB#Creating_the_USB_stick_on_Linux)

Title: Re: Who gave SME Sever 10Alpha3 a test run?
Post by: TerryF on October 17, 2018, 11:50:16 AM
Short story, this is a bug because I've edit the grub menu entry and replace the two "cdrom" occurence by "usb" and it's work  :smile:
I've mounted the media on my pc to browse the usb-key files : /sme-server/isolinux/isolinux.cfg doen't contain any option for usb

I think you are getting ahead of yourself :-) try dd first as described in the wiki
Title: Re: Who gave SME Sever 10Alpha3 a test run?
Post by: krisden on October 17, 2018, 03:06:07 PM
I think you are getting ahead of yourself :-) try dd first as described in the wiki
Seriously ?  :shock:
For your pleasure, to keep doubts and even if this not my first usb-key challenge, I've tried this 10 min ago, it is the same situation : the system asks for a cd-rom source, nothing asks for an usb ressource, something missing in the "isolinux.cfg" file.
I've opened a bug report this morning : https://bugs.contribs.org/show_bug.cgi?id=10632

But now, it is another problem  :-? : I'm unable to assign an ip address in the server configuration (not server-manager)
I've to run "dhclient" to obtain it (this server standalone behind a sme9.2 gateway-server)
Title: Re: Who gave SME Sever 10Alpha3 a test run?
Post by: TerryF on October 17, 2018, 07:51:34 PM
Seriously ?  :shock:

Yes, just stabs in the dark, from what I can recall the last usb install I tried would have to be two years ago back in alpha2, have used ISOs for VMS and testing since so certainly just making sure and it saves me doing it :-) lazy? yes,

I do think it is broken

For your pleasure, to keep doubts and even if this not my first usb-key challenge, I've tried this 10 min ago, it is the same situation : the system asks for a cd-rom source, nothing asks for an usb ressource, something missing in the "isolinux.cfg" file.
I've opened a bug report this morning : https://bugs.contribs.org/show_bug.cgi?id=10632

Certainly not for my pleasure, saves questions later.

Raised a Bug? Good

As for the rest, much the same as to date, can't offer a solution sorry.

Hope you continue the testing, keep an eye on bugzilla as there are a lot of issues already reported there further info would be invaluable
Title: Re: Who gave SME Sever 10Alpha3 a test run?
Post by: krisden on October 18, 2018, 04:28:51 PM
Don't worry be happy, I will continue  8)
To respond to the post question, I achevied like this and then arrive to connect to server-manager (my choice is server only) :
Title: Re: Who gave SME Sever 10Alpha3 a test run?
Post by: ReetP on October 18, 2018, 07:33:13 PM
We're hoping to get a new ISO out in the not to distant future.

I think the installer issues are down to hacking anaconda which is tricky (way beyongld my pay grade) but will be investigated.

Please keep bashing away and finding/reporting issues.
Title: Re: Who gave SME Sever 10Alpha3 a test run?
Post by: TerryF on October 18, 2018, 07:55:37 PM
Don't worry be happy, I will continue  8)

Fantastic, we are a little short of competent helpers :-)

Yes, definitely a bug in the installer, makes me wonder how long the usb install has been borked for, all testing has been exclusively VM based of recent times or dvd installs were used in early days to hardware.

I hope you are interested enough to want to dig in and help.
Title: Re: Who gave SME Sever 10Alpha3 a test run?
Post by: TerryF on October 18, 2018, 08:20:53 PM
Have now also run into this issue due to my testing hardware:

https://bugs.centos.org/view.php?id=9860

https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=1285235

Title: Re: Who gave SME Sever 10Alpha3 a test run?
Post by: ReetP on October 18, 2018, 08:29:30 PM
Joy :-)
Title: Re: Who gave SME Sever 10Alpha3 a test run?
Post by: TerryF on October 18, 2018, 09:11:09 PM
Joy :-)

and you know what my first response is :-)

Resolved that by adding boot time parameter 'initcall_blacklist=clocksource_done_booting this is a known issue and effects other hardware as well, a newer kernel is supposed to fix it

and as krisden did above edited isolinux.cfg from:

label linux
  menu label ^Install Koozali SME Server 10
  kernel vmlinuz
  append initrd=initrd.img inst.stage2=hd:LABEL=SME\x20Server inst.ks=cdrom:/dev/cdrom:/Packages/base/sme-kickstart.cfg quiet

to

label linux
  menu label ^Install Koozali SME Server 10
  kernel vmlinuz
  append initrd=initrd.img initcall_blacklist=clocksource_done_booting inst.stage2=hd:LABEL=SME\x20Server inst.ks=hd:/dev/sdb1:/Packages/base/sme-kickstart.cfg quiet

Now have a running Koozali SME Server 10, server only mode, on my N54L test box that has only seen VMs of late :-)  now to reconfigure box back to using prox :-) details added to bug krisden raised.

Added: Wiki https://wiki.contribs.org/SME_Server:10.0Alpha3#Notes modified re USB install not supported in this release

Didn't have the network problems
Title: Re: Who gave SME Sever 10Alpha3 a test run?
Post by: Franco on November 07, 2018, 02:02:47 AM
Great guys, I have a IBM X3200M running 9.2, maybe it's time for me to test 10  :razz:
I have to say that this machine is a bit fussy on what it runs.

Thanks,
Title: Re: Who gave SME Sever 10Alpha3 a test run?
Post by: ReetP on November 07, 2018, 10:36:49 AM
The more testing, the more it helps.

A simple compatibility test is to try a stock CentOS 7 install (check the hardware compatibility lists).

If that runs then SME should.

We hope to get an updated test version out soon. Keep an eye out.