Koozali.org formerly Contribs.org

Contribs.org Forums => Development => Topic started by: antairus on January 05, 2016, 01:31:16 AM

Title: Loading SME VIA UEFI
Post by: antairus on January 05, 2016, 01:31:16 AM
Is there a way to load SME Server Via UEFI?
Title: Re: Loading SME VIA UEFI
Post by: CharlieBrady on January 05, 2016, 01:47:20 PM
Is there a way to load SME Server Via UEFI?

No.
Title: Re: Loading SME VIA UEFI
Post by: antairus on December 21, 2017, 06:25:15 PM
So if I Have a UEFI only I can't Load SME Server?
Title: Re: Loading SME VIA UEFI
Post by: janet on December 21, 2017, 06:41:29 PM
antairus

See
https://www.google.com.au/amp/s/www.howtogeek.com/56958/htg-explains-how-uefi-will-replace-the-bios/amp/

Most UEFI implementations provide BIOS emulation so you can choose to install and boot old operating systems that expect a BIOS instead of UEFI, so they’re backwards compatible.

Title: Re: Loading SME VIA UEFI
Post by: DanB35 on December 22, 2017, 12:23:11 PM
So if I Have a UEFI only I can't Load SME Server?
Why did you wait two years to follow up to your question?
Title: Re: Loading SME VIA UEFI
Post by: CharlieBrady on December 22, 2017, 05:04:03 PM
So if I Have a UEFI only I can't Load SME Server?

If you really have UEFI only (coming one day, but most systems today have a "legacy" option), then you can first load a hypervisor, and then load SME server in a VM.