Koozali.org formerly Contribs.org

Obsolete Releases => SME VoIP (Asterisk, SAIL etc) => Topic started by: peterpan746 on April 08, 2009, 08:31:11 AM

Title: [SOLVED]Adjusting the TX gain
Post by: peterpan746 on April 08, 2009, 08:31:11 AM
Greetings,

Is there a way to adjust the gain within SARK on the transmit signal.  We have good voice quality coming in, but complaints about the volume that is send out.

Any help will be appreciated.
Title: Re: Adjusting the TX gain
Post by: David Harper on April 08, 2009, 09:59:01 AM
A few questions:

What is your outgoing connection exactly -- PSTN, ISDN or VOIP? (and what card/carrier)
What handsets are you using?
What version of SAIL are you using?
Title: Re: Adjusting the TX gain
Post by: peterpan746 on April 08, 2009, 12:14:41 PM
Hi there,

Epygi Quadro FXO Gateway (boosted maximum) connected to PSTN
Handset Atcom 530P
Version: Version: sail-2.2.1-617

Hope this helps.

Best regards,

Frik
Title: Re: Adjusting the TX gain
Post by: David Harper on April 08, 2009, 12:25:21 PM
That's a very old version of SAIL you've got there. Have you considered an upgrade to the latest version?
Title: Re: Adjusting the TX gain
Post by: Franco on April 08, 2009, 01:57:53 PM
Is there a way to adjust the gain within SARK on the transmit signal.  We have good voice quality coming in, but complaints about the volume that is send out.
Under the General Edit Panel, edit the zapata.conf
Mine reads:
Quote
rxgain=1.2
txgain=2.5
Title: Re: Adjusting the TX gain
Post by: SARK devs on April 08, 2009, 07:28:55 PM
I don't think you can actually use General Edit panel because it won't let you change zapata. 
Use Headers->zapata.conf

Set the gains to whatever you like, issue a commit and then either reload chan_zaptel or restart asterisk.  Don't forget that the gains are calibrated in decibels so they are logarithmic (double the number is 4 times the volume), valid values are -10 thru +10, unity is 0.

Best

S
Title: Re: Adjusting the TX gain
Post by: peterpan746 on April 08, 2009, 07:37:55 PM
Thanks for all the advise I will give it a try tommorow.  What makes this system such a pain is the fact that because of the TELCO's in ability to provide these people with copper lines (in part because the lines get stolen faster than they are installed) the lines are DECT lines, and the TELCO informed me that they can't/won't adjust the gain on their equipment.

And being "true" clients the pbx gets the blame not the TELCO.

I will provide feedback from the site tommorow.

Best regards,

F
Title: Re: Adjusting the TX gain
Post by: Franco on April 08, 2009, 08:02:22 PM
I don't think you can actually use General Edit panel because it won't let you change zapata. 
Use Headers->zapata.conf
That's it, I looked too quickly :-D
Title: Re: Adjusting the TX gain
Post by: peterpan746 on April 09, 2009, 09:26:51 PM
Hi there,

I did as directed and all seems to be ok now.  The client is happy, thus I'm happy.  Thank you so much for all the help.

Best regards,

F