Koozali.org formerly Contribs.org

Legacy Forums => Experienced User Forum => Topic started by: WXP on July 13, 2001, 08:59:32 PM

Title: How to clear squid cache ?
Post by: WXP on July 13, 2001, 08:59:32 PM
How ?

thanx ;-)
Title: Re: How to clear squid cache ?
Post by: Michael Doerner on July 14, 2001, 10:46:38 AM
squid -z ?

You are welcome ;-)
Title: Re: How to clear squid cache ?
Post by: enigma01 on July 16, 2001, 08:20:13 PM
it helps if you stop hte service first!
Title: Re: How to clear squid cache ?
Post by: enigma01 on July 18, 2001, 02:37:45 AM
Sorry - i should have gien the complete instructions, here we go then :)

logon to the esmith from your favourite term-emulator or the console and type the following

service squid stop     (this stops the service)
squid -z                    (this rebuilds the cache and swap directories)
service squid start     (this starts squid again)

hope this helps - let us know if it does - there are loads of threads that nefer seem to acknowledge or inform the next person if the info solved the Q.

Best of  luck

Gavin
Title: Re: How to clear squid cache ?
Post by: WXP on July 18, 2001, 06:19:26 PM
i dont know if it works because i just reinstalled my e-smith server but i^'ll try to notify if i see something l8er..
Title: Clearing squid cache...
Post by: Synquest on November 05, 2006, 09:05:02 PM
squid -z will rebuild the cache and swap directories, but will not clear the cache...

To do that:

service squid stop

echo "" > /var/spool/squid/swap.state

service squid start

This overwrites the squid cache with 1 byte of garbage, in effect clearing it.
Title: Re: How to clear squid cache ?
Post by: CharlieBrady on November 06, 2006, 03:36:55 AM
Quote from: "WXP"
How ?


"Why?" is another relevant question. The squid cache saves you time (and in many cases money). You can always refresh individual items in the cache using appropriate browser key combinations (unfortunately they differ between browsers).
Title: Why?
Post by: Synquest on April 30, 2007, 03:10:53 PM
The "why" would be that selective refresh by use of various key combinations (CTRL in IE) will not refresh framed content reliably.