Koozali.org: home of the SME Server

Mixed server environment

john bennett

Mixed server environment
« on: August 21, 2000, 11:42:46 PM »
I had originally posted this in the new user forum, but no answer, which is why I am posting it here.  

In my house I have a Novell server, e-smith 4.0 server, win2k pro desktop, and an NT 4.0 desktop. I am using the novell client. I am currently authenticating into the netware server. I would also like to have access to my e-smith server as well. I am pretty new to e-smith. I set the e-smith up to be the PDC with a workgroup name of home. On the NT and win2k pc's I currently have them in the home domain. Must I change that and put them in the home workgroup. If so, why? If I add an NT server to the mix, and make it the pdc in a domain called home, and change my workstations accordingly, will I still be able to see everything from the e-smith box? (i-bays, etc.)

Now, I could spend my time in my room eventually figuring it out, but my wife and kids would like to see me. So, all help is greatly appreciated.

More info, I have changed the w/s to be in the home workgroup, but still don't have access to the e-smith server or i-bays.  I am wanting to modify the html files.  I can see the directories and i-bay shares, but when I got to save the file, I can something similiar to access denied.  I know it's a rights issue, but can't get it to work.  Currently, I am logging into the system as admin.  Admin has the same password acroos all systems.  I even created an administrators group on the e-smith server and put the user admin in this group, but nothing works for me.

Thanks to all who help,

JB

TIA,

JB

Charlie Brady

RE: Mixed server environment
« Reply #1 on: August 26, 2000, 10:49:04 PM »
john bennett wrote:

> In my house I have a Novell server, e-smith 4.0 server, win2k
> pro desktop, and an NT 4.0 desktop. I am using the novell
> client. I am currently authenticating into the netware server.