Koozali.org: home of the SME Server

Qmail cname temporarily failed

Qmail cname temporarily failed
« on: April 08, 2015, 04:41:11 PM »
Hello,

I just started working in a company which uses sme server 9, and it work great, except for the fact that some emails to external domains cannot be send. After going through the logs I found that the most likely reason is the size of dns query replies (it is even posted as bug 7946 for sme server 8). I am new to sme server, and have found some patches for when you can rebuild qmail, but am wondering if there is a way to solve this using perhaps the controls folder in qmail? If not could someone perhaps direct through patching qmail (something like this http://www.memoryhole.net/qmail/qmail-103.patch) on sme server 9. Any help is greatly appreciated.

Offline CharlieBrady

• +3/-0
Re: Qmail cname temporarily failed
« Reply #1 on: April 08, 2015, 04:54:22 PM »
Please post your information to bug 7946. Please identify which external domains you are not able to send to.

Offline brianr

• +2/-0
Brian j Read
(retired, for a second time, still got 2 installations though)
The instrument I am playing is my favourite Melodeon.

« Reply #3 on: April 09, 2015, 10:52:37 PM »
You are right, I didn't include any information about the domains that are failing. I just looked into the var/log/qmail/current and the last domains that gave the error CNAME_lookup_failed_temporarily are

@hotmail.com
@gmail.com
@philips.com
@crconstructora.ec

I am not quite sure on how to fix this issue on a test server given that the patches that I have found are to change dns.c so I was wondering if there is a way around this through some additional configuration to qmail on the sme server. Thanks for a quick reply.

guest22

« Reply #4 on: April 09, 2015, 11:02:16 PM »
Hello,

Hi, and welcome! Sorry we forgot to welcome you in the first place.

Offline janet

• +0/-0
« Reply #5 on: April 10, 2015, 03:14:48 AM »
i2e_smeserver