Koozali.org: home of the SME Server

GeoIP 2

Offline ReetP

• +5/-0
GeoIP 2
« on: December 18, 2018, 01:42:29 AM »
I have previously mentioned that the old GeoIP v1 databases that are currently used by the smeserver-geoip package are going EOL on the 1st Jan.

The DBs have not actually been updated since early this year and will be withdrawn shortly.

This means that if you use the contrib then geoipupdate may well start to complain it cannot find the databases online when it tries to update via cron. I know there are quite a few users out there.

Some while ago I updated the contrib to use the GeoIP v2 databases and I have been running it without issues on a few boxes for several months. I have even packaged the latest spamassasin (3.4.2) which is GeoIP 2 aware.

So why not just release it?

Ahhhh. That's where the fun starts.

The package requires a perl Maxmind package to read the databases, and that in turn requires an awful lot of other packages that are not in SME or any upstream repos as yet. The only place I could find them was in the openfusion repositories.

The intention for some time has been to see if we can import the source code into SME ourselves. I have been trying, and failing, to do that for a while. Spamassassin builds on my build server, and seems to run OK on my test VM, and is uploaded to buildsys, but it spectacularly fails to build for reasons unknown to me (awstats too). I'm unlikely at present to be able to get any perl packages imported (and it is a real rats nest too - nothing is ever easy)

Why has this happened?

Quite simply we are short of manpower. The most experienced people are busy with jobs and lives and earning a crust. A few of us with less experience and knowledge have done what we can do recently, but there is a limit to our knowledge and expertise, and we just don't have enough to fix this one. I have also spent way too much of my work time trying to figure it out.