Koozali.org: home of the SME Server

Run SMEServer as a VM under Centos or Fedora?

Offline brianr

• +2/-0
Run SMEServer as a VM under Centos or Fedora?
« on: December 20, 2016, 06:54:50 PM »
I am thinking of migrating my dedicated SMEServer to one running in a VM under Centos (7?) or Fedora 25 Server (I used F25 as a desktop - so I have some experience with it). I'd use Virtual Box (as I 've already got a number of other useful VB VMs).

What does the team thing about these issues?

1. How do I integrate the SMEServer into the network, does it make sense to use it as a firewall or should I deal with the WAN connection in the host OS and just use SMEserver in server-only mode for email and shared data?

2. I presume I am better setting up the Raid in the host (my desktop runs Raid 1), and just using a single Virtual Disc in the SMEServer VM?

Any other gotchas that I have not yet thought about?

Brian j Read
(retired, for a second time, still got 2 installations though)
The instrument I am playing is my favourite Melodeon.

Offline Stefano

• +2/-0
Re: Run SMEServer as a VM under Centos or Fedora?
« Reply #1 on: December 20, 2016, 09:21:10 PM »
My 2c.. Take a look at phpvirtualbox page in the wiki about bridge..
Server only, single disk no raid.. If you have the possibility, use a raw disk (a whole one or a partition)
If you need some hints, feel free to ask

Offline DanB35

• +0/-0
    • http://www.familybrown.org
« Reply #2 on: December 21, 2016, 12:53:05 AM »
How important is uptime and stability of your SME Server instance?  If it's something you want to be up all the time, you might want to check out a better hypervisor like Proxmox or ESXi

guest22

« Reply #3 on: December 21, 2016, 07:31:44 AM »
When using Fedora as the host, I had very good results and performance using libvirt and SME Server. Please see https://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Getting_started_with_virtualization

Just my 2 cents to add to the equation ;-)

Offline brianr

• +2/-0