Koozali.org: home of the SME Server

Ethernet drivers

Offline CC

• +0/-0
Ethernet drivers
« on: May 03, 2014, 07:22:46 AM »
Hi, would appreciate some help.
Installed SME 9 into a fitPC 3.  Wishing to run it as a server-manager and had planned to use eth0 for internet and wlan0 for connection to the LAN. wlan uses a realtek chip and is not recognised by SME9.  (BTW: It is recognised by SME8 but will not work.)  Googling suggests this is not a good way to go anyway, so I purchased a Gigabit USB -> Ethernet adaptor which is claimed to work under Linux.

My problem is that I need to install the supplied drivers and have no idea where I should install them to.  The readme file says to unpack and install in to the "Template" directory.

I'm a novice at CLI so any step by step assistance would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks in advance.

Offline nicolatiana

• +0/-0
Re: Ethernet drivers
« Reply #1 on: May 03, 2014, 08:47:55 AM »
Provide more infos but, even if I don't know the exact use you are going to do of your FITPC3, you'll live a better&quite life installing Sme in server only mode leaving a good wLan router/modem make the job for you. If you can go-back consider the FITPC3i that has the option for an extra gigabit port.

I can suppose that if a direct support for USB adapters in SME is not provided (so was in SME7, maybe in SME8 too) you must compile the driver/KO ---> not a good idea on a server.

http://forums.contribs.org/index.php/topic,47150.msg232253.html#msg232253
http://forums.contribs.org/index.php/topic,46069.msg225391.html#msg225391

Nicola
« Last Edit: May 03, 2014, 08:57:10 AM by nicolatiana »
Consulente di Smeserver.it -  Soluzioni e supporto su Sme server in Italia.

Offline stephdl

• +0/-0
    • Linux et Geekeries
« Reply #2 on: May 03, 2014, 08:59:29 AM »
Hi