Koozali.org: home of the SME Server

Cannot access console and server manager

Offline antystein

• +0/-0
Re: Cannot access console and server manager
« Reply #15 on: January 10, 2014, 02:40:50 PM »
I have already discussed with management about a donation, they agreed, so it is going to take place soon!

I feel that the more experienced I become, the more I can participate. At the moment I am still learning the basics, but it is always my pleasure to help people with the experience I get.
« Last Edit: January 10, 2014, 03:19:49 PM by antystein »

Offline stephdl

• +0/-0
    • Linux et Geekeries
« Reply #16 on: January 10, 2014, 06:46:21 PM »
so go on and never stop to learn :)

This page is for you then
http://wiki.contribs.org/SME_Server:Volunteering

Do not be shy to ask what you can do, where you can find something...

A big part of works in bugzilla is in the skill you did on your server, read, test, think, find, report...no more

@+

See http://wiki.contribs.org/Koozali_Foundation
irc : Freenode #sme_server #sme-fr

!!! Please write your knowledge to the Wiki !!!

Offline janet

• +0/-0
« Reply #17 on: January 11, 2014, 01:36:25 AM »
antystein

Fixed!

You mean you fixed two problems you found.
That could still be more "hidden" or as yet undetected problems.

It seems that somehow all (or many) permissions on the server were changed to 777 resulting on several services not to work.

I would be very concerned about that & how it happened.

Based on the fact that the server during the period that this happened, which is actually 3 days, was not in use (meaning that no users were connected etc, i.e. it was just running "idle") I don't have any clues of what could have caused it. Looking now at most of the access logs for that period I can't see any strange activity, that is, evidence of hackers.

Hackers will usually delete the logs (or log entries) that their activities create.