Koozali.org: home of the SME Server

"Windows cannot connect to domain . . . "

Offline RF_Guy

• +0/-0
"Windows cannot connect to domain . . . "
« on: September 18, 2009, 12:17:19 AM »
Hi,

I've had a problem with an older version of SME Server 6.0.1 running out of disk space, I've been advised to upgrade to a current version of SME Server so I've purchased an entire new server platform, a Dell, PowerEdge T100 with the idea that I can keep the old server working till I get the new server running.  On the new platform I've installed SME Server 7.4, and configured it as best as I've been able to figure out the same as the 6.0.1 server.

I'm not the person who set up the 6.0.1, he passed away about a year and half ago, and as far as I can tell the last change to the server was about 2 years ago.  I'm also not an IT guru, but I am the go to guy for computers and software. I have some unix experience mostly as a user and have been been involved in PC hardware, software, OS etc since the DOS days.  My small company has grown accustomed to the features the SME Server has provided, have our office PC's networked for file storage/sharing, network printing, email forwarding.  We currently have 5 XPpro Client machines and a couple of Win98 machines, some printers and other periphials on our network,  The 6.0.1 server is connected to the outside world via a DSL modem.

For testing of the new 7.4 server I've connected the it to an isolated network hub and connected one of the xp Pro Client machines.  When I boot up the XP pro Client machine I get a windows Login screen, that asks for User name, password, and shows the domain.  When I enter the username and password, I get a Windows Login Message:
  "Windows cannot connect to the domain, either because the domain controller is down or otherwise unavailable, or because your computer account was not found.  Please try again later.  If this message continues to appear, conact your System Adminstrator for assistance."