Koozali.org: home of the SME Server

A Serious Exchange 2003 Alternative

Offline shawnbishop

• +0/-0
A Serious Exchange 2003 Alternative
« on: January 06, 2009, 03:29:39 PM »
Good Day

I have been installing SME Server at my Clients for the last 3 years, and it is a fantastic product..Now the real test has come up

A new customer runs MS Exchange 2003 with 1000 users, they are having endless hassles etc...they have looked at going to Exchange 2007 but costs etc ( in these times) is prohibitive...so they are looking for an alternative...

I would like to use SME Server, I have used SME for ordinary IMAP and POP mail etc / Samba / FTP etc...but they want a alternative that offers Calendaring / Address Book etc...

And this is the part that makes me cringe, they need to use Outlook, but I cannot be installing 1000 clients such as OX-connector etc

I saw a mention of funambol, I am not to sure what this is?? ( Push mail)

I did see an alternative last year called PostPath, but they have been bought by CISCO..and their website doesnt help..

Does anybody have experience doing this etc?? or I saw another alternative called Kerio??

I would appreciate your opinions...

Offline Stefano

• +2/-0
Re: A Serious Exchange 2003 Alternative
« Reply #1 on: January 06, 2009, 03:38:17 PM »
Hi

if:
- you must use outlook but you can't/want to install 1000 connector
- you need something with calendars, address book ecc

you have to remain with exchange..

every other solution could have a low cost (in money) but a high one in terms of time, customer/user satisfaction.

It's sad, but it's true

outlook is designed to work with exchange or without.. in the first case you can use calendar secc, in the second no.. no if you don't use connectors or thirdy party sw so sync.

all, naturally, IMHO

Ciao
Stefano

Offline eastend99

• +0/-0
« Reply #2 on: January 06, 2009, 05:33:52 PM »
Have a look at zarafa: http://www.zarafa.com