Koozali.org: home of the SME Server

RSYNC on SME?

Offline dave simmons

• +0/-0
RSYNC on SME?
« on: January 26, 2008, 10:42:04 PM »
Hi,

Is rsync part of the SME installation?

I've searched the forums and I can't find much information. 

What I would like to do is use rsync on SME to backup over the internet - to take data from a remote site to our server here.  I have got this working to a FreeNAS box, but it would be good if I could also do this on SME - the SME machine is running here 24/7 and the FreeNAS box is only running because it has a very easy-to-use interface, which enabled me (complete novice) to get rsync to work.  I don't need the FreeNas box for anything else, so I could save on power consumption if I could also get it onto the SME box.

I would be very grateful if anyone could point me in the right direction.

Thanks in advance.

Offline Confucius

• +0/-0
Re: RSYNC on SME?
« Reply #1 on: January 26, 2008, 11:44:16 PM »
To answer your 1st question...

Yes, rsync is included. version 2.6.9 at the moment.

Hooking up to a NAS over the net seems interesting but I never did that myself.

Offline dave simmons

• +0/-0
« Reply #2 on: January 26, 2008, 11:54:46 PM »
Hi Confucius,

Yes - it works great to FreeNAS (because I can configure some rsync options using an internet Interface- for example the destination directory).

What I need to know is how to set up the rsync service to make this backup - maybe to an i-bay on the SME machine.  I'm handling security via a VPN tunnel between netscreen boxes, so all I need is a few pointers to configure the SME machine so I can switch off the FreeNAS box.

Offline uniqsys

• +0/-0
« Reply #3 on: January 27, 2008, 02:41:53 AM »

Is rsync part of the SME installation?
Yes as previously stated.

I've searched the forums and I can't find much information.