Koozali.org: home of the SME Server

Is there an easy way to get a gui?

Offline Aitch

• +0/-0
« on: October 30, 2007, 06:02:16 PM »
Hi

It's one of those "Oh no, not another noob, questions", I'm afraid

I'm a relative noob to Linux though familiar with windoze boxes, though this is my first server

I started with a broadberry server with a crapped out win2003 setup & just stuck this SME 7.1 CD in it

After a struggle I got it to run, but I'm finding it hard to see my way round.
Is there an easy way to get a GUI? [possibly Xfce or kde/gnome]
What packages do I need? and where are they?

I've successfully worked my way through all the yum fiddly bits to get the update done & I now have fully updated v7.2

I can't find my way round successfully setting users/groups/access & additional software so that my win boxes can utilise the share on my local net, which is 'server only' behind a router/firewall

Any tips?
Thanks, Aitch

Offline dmay

• +0/-0
    • http://myezserver.com
Re: Is there an easy way to get a gui?
« Reply #1 on: October 30, 2007, 06:07:55 PM »
Try starting with the manual:

http://wiki.contribs.org/SME_Server:Documentation

Darrell

Offline pfloor

• +1/-0
« Reply #2 on: October 30, 2007, 06:20:12 PM »

NO!  But there is a VERY EASY way to access the (already) built-in GUI.

https://server-name/server-manager
or
https://server-ip-address/server-manager

Like dmay says... Read the manual, it's full very useful information.
In life, you must either "Push, Pull or Get out of the way!"

Offline Aitch

• +0/-0
« Reply #3 on: October 30, 2007, 06:26:15 PM »
Yeh, Thanks guys, like I haven't done that!!!

Maybe I'm not explaining clearly

I want something more than 'commander' interface
I'm a visual oriented person not a software scriptwriter
It's only a simple request, don't take the p***

Offline warren

• +0/-0
« Reply #4 on: October 30, 2007, 06:58:51 PM »
Yeh, Thanks guys, like I haven't done that!!!

Maybe I'm not explaining clearly