Koozali.org: home of the SME Server

URGENT: sshd via tun/Hamachi

ylon

« on: July 07, 2007, 05:38:18 AM »
I have tried several methods to enable remote access to sshd by way of the Hamachi network.  We can see the server just fine from the Hamachi client, however we cannot figure out how to allow ssh into the SME Server with Hamachi.

What we've tried:
1) Editing the sshd_config to listen on the Hamachi address.
2) Through Server-Manager -> Security -> Remote Access -> Remote Management added the Hamachi network and subnet.
3) Through Server-Manager -> Security -> Local Networks added the Hamachi network.

I've taken a look through iptables and things appear to be alright, but I am no expert by any stretch of the imagination.  Please advise as to what should be done in order to make this remote access work properly via Hamachi.

Thanks so very much!

Offline imcintyre

• +0/-0
« Reply #1 on: July 07, 2007, 07:19:55 AM »
<~~ not familiar with Hamachi

You did not mention how you had set your /Server-Manager/remote access/secure shell settings. Maybe you overlooked this.

ps why not put sme in server gateway mode, enable vpn access, and enable ssh setting to local address and skip Hamachi?

ylon

« Reply #2 on: July 07, 2007, 08:39:12 PM »
Under the Secure Shell Settings I have it set to:
Secure shell access: Allow public access (entire Internet)
Allow admin cmd line access over ssh: YES
Allow ssh access using std passwds: YES

I also tried to enable Remote Management under the same page such that the hamachi network would have access (essentially 5.0.0.0 w/ a subnet of 255.0.0.0 which is huge, but I'll scale this down to the singular ip once I have it working).

And of course like I'd mentioned I had also set this same network up for hte Local networks under the Security section.