Koozali.org: home of the SME Server

Installation problems on Compaq Proliant

greatdivide

« on: January 04, 2007, 11:40:11 AM »
Hello there, firstly my apologies if this is posted in the wrong place am a complete newbie to all this.

I am trying to install SME server 7 on a Compaq proliant 5500 server the problem I have is when the server tries to boot off the CD which contains SME server 7.0 I get the following error, Non-system disk or disk error replace and strike any key when ready.

I have tried the CD in another machine and it works fine so that rules out a problem with the CD in addition I have also tried to boot the server off a Windows 2000 CD which worked and started the install program for Win 2k.

Any help or suggestions would be much appreciated.

cc_skavenger

« Reply #1 on: January 07, 2007, 06:58:24 PM »
have you done a md5 check on the disk or image you downloaded to make sure it isn't corrupt?  I have issues when I use a download manager in windows to download the images.  

Just a suggestion.

hummer5354

« Reply #2 on: February 09, 2007, 10:43:08 PM »
I am having issues myself with a Proliant server as well.  My server is a Compaq Proliant 6000.  Here are the specs:

* Compaq Smart Array 3100ES controller
* 4 hot swappable 9.1 SCSI disks in a hardware RAID5 array
  (total storage space is about 25GB)
* 768MB of memory
* 4 Intel Xeon 400MHz CPUs with 1MB cache each

I can't get SME 7.1 installed on this server.  It seems to hang at some many stages of the install and then continues with the install for a little longer, but eventually it just hangs for good (I'm talking 3+ hours of waiting...).

Here are some of the things I've tried:

* I've burned the SME 7.1 iso image on two different CDs
* Downloaded the iso image twice (from two different places) and verified the MD5 sum to be correct
* Tested the CDs I'm using via the prompt during the install process: they passed.