Koozali.org: home of the SME Server

How to purge SARG reports (and other log files)

Offline Frank VB

• +0/-0
« on: December 19, 2006, 03:33:43 PM »
Hello

I know a little bit about Linux commands but I'm new to SME server. I have a SME 6.0 server with a 40 GB drive which is almost completely filled up. I've read that you can purge the SARG report files, located at /var/www/html/squid, (which eat up a lot of disk space). How do I this? Log in as root, browse to the folder and execute a delete command?

Are there any other (log) files that I can delete safely? Is there a command to defrag the hard drive?

Thanks for your help.

Frank

Offline byte

• +2/-0
« Reply #1 on: December 22, 2006, 11:47:30 PM »
What I normally do is take a backup of the data then delete within the daily/weekly/monthly directories, you can do this using the rm command but do take care using it have a go on a test box first and type man rm at command to see the different syntax;s
--[byte]--

Have you filled in a Bug Report over @ http://bugs.contribs.org ? Please don't wait to be told this way you help us to help you/others - Thanks!

Offline Frank VB

• +0/-0
Archiving
« Reply #2 on: January 04, 2007, 03:11:28 PM »
Thanks. Ultimately I did the following:

1. First I navigated to the daily log folder:

Code: [Select]
cd /var/www/html/squid/daily

Note: you should log in with the root account.

2. I archived all the subfolders and files in the daily folder into a file named "daily.2003.tar.gz" with the command:

tar zcvf daily.2003.tar.gz ./2003*-2003*

I repeated step 2 for every year that I wanted to archive. Actually I archived the years 2003 and 2004. So:

tar zcvf daily.2004.tar.gz ./2004*-2004*

2. I then moved all the resulting tar files to my home folder:

mv 2003*.tar.gz -v /home/e-smith/files/users/[myusername]/home/squidlogs/daily
mv 2004*.tar.gz -v /home/e-smith/files/users/[myusername]/home/squidlogs/daily