Koozali.org: home of the SME Server

Getting old web sites in squid ?? *** Solved ***

Offline steve288

• +0/-0
Getting old web sites in squid ?? *** Solved ***
« on: November 09, 2006, 04:11:44 PM »
We use squidguard to filter our browsing. We renewed our web site recently but we kept getting the old web site in our browsers. We figured that the problem was that we kept getting the old cache from squid.

I should say first that I am no expert on squid. The following took me 6 or 7 hours of research and trial. Anyone who wants to rag on me feel free to do it but it is like a Phd Ridiculing a 1 year old, if you get satisfaction from this they go ahead. Constructive critisizm Im open to specially if technically Im leading people astray.

However I have spend so much time at this that I hope that it will be helpfull to other simpletons like myself in the "I wish someone would write that down category" I have writen it I think for the basic user becasue Im Simple (did I mention that ). I do hope it will help others of our ilk.

HOW TO REBUILD THE CACHE IN SQUID
OS Esmith SMI Version 6.0
Squid Version Squid Cache: Version 2.4 STABLE6
(By the way if you want to know what version of squid you have type squid-v

How to create  new cache files
squid –v  
(current version of squid is Squid Cache: Version 2.4 Stable6)

1.Make copy of Open /etc/squid/squid.conf  . You could name it squid.conf.original You will need this file later on so do this. Its always good to have a backup anyway in case something goes wrong.
2. Open /etc/squid/squid.conf
3. Check to see if the following parameter is in the file, search a line that starts with:
cache_dir
Edit  it OR Add it to something like this. (Keep your numbers at the end if you have a line like this. )

cache_dir  ufs  /var/spool/squidtmp  100  16  256