Koozali.org: home of the SME Server

Linux Workstations on SME

crimsonline

« on: December 30, 2004, 09:34:29 AM »
Hi everybody,
I have been using SME 6.01 for about 1 year using windows 2000 and XP workstations. I would like to move away from windows and implement suse 9.2 workstations on my network.. Can SME support linux workstations together with windows workstations without any problems? And manage both with a Primary domain controller feel?
Regards,
Louis

crimsonline

« Reply #1 on: December 30, 2004, 04:22:10 PM »
I’ve done some looking around on the net but can’t find any info on this
Does anybody know if it is possible @ all?

rmarshall

linux and sme
« Reply #2 on: December 30, 2004, 07:39:18 PM »
I've been using sme and Suse for almost 2 years. You just use samba   as you would with windows.

Damian

« Reply #3 on: December 31, 2004, 06:54:58 PM »
Did you see this post .... ?

http://forums.contribs.org/index.php?topic=24054.0

That gets you NFS access onto the fileserver (SME) so you can share files and you can also (as suggested) use smbclient to browse all shares and interact with them.

Damian
(Using SME 6.0 via NFS from a SuSE 9.1 laptop daily.)

crimsonline

« Reply #4 on: January 01, 2005, 08:39:53 AM »
ok, so i use nfs to access all the ibays from my suse workstations. Can i manage all my user accounts with sme server? what are the limitations?

Damian

« Reply #5 on: January 01, 2005, 11:44:08 AM »
You can manage all UNIX accounts from your SME server using NIS. NIS, and it's partner the automounter on UNIX clients will allow any user to log in from any workstation and be placed in their locally-mounted home directory.