Koozali.org: home of the SME Server

Printing from Linux workstation...

Steve L

Printing from Linux workstation...
« on: June 21, 2002, 06:15:52 PM »
Hello,
I have been using SME for 2 years with all Win 98 and Mac clients on my home LAN.

Now I am replacing my Win machines with Red Hat 7.3 boxes. This brought me to a situation that I am haveing trouble with.

Printing to my HP Laser Jet that is attached to my SME box.

How or where is a good place to research this. The Win clients were easy via the Samba share. But, with the RH clients I a not sure about.

Thanks in advance,

Steve L

Dan Brown

Re: Printing from Linux workstation...
« Reply #1 on: June 21, 2002, 07:16:33 PM »
On a Mandrake workstation, I just used the printer via Samba.  Don't know how easy that is under RH, though.

Robert Boerner

« Reply #2 on: June 22, 2002, 12:48:22 AM »
IMHO, you have two options:

A) As Dan suggested, use Samba to connect to the printer (easy enough if you use Mandrake or Red Hat)

B) Setup LPR to print to a remote host. In This case I would definitely recommend checking out www.linuxprinting.org for excellent documentation on how to do this.

The gist is if you want to do this manually you would have to edit /etc/printcap and specify the remote host (in this case the e-smith box) by IP or hostname, and the name of the output que.

There are a lot of variables to consider depending on your type of printer et al, but check out the Linux printing HOWTO on the website. It is very well done.

Mahmood Al-Yousif

« Reply #3 on: June 26, 2002, 04:27:33 PM »
I've been struggling with the same issues as well for the last couple of weeks.

The best thing I've found is to use redhat-switch-printer and set the default to lpr, then use the printtool (or printconf-gui) to add the printer with a remote queue.

You're on easy-street with the HP Laser as there are drivers built-into RedHat 7.3 for most HP printers. I had to struggle with an old GCC Elite XL 808!