Koozali.org: home of the SME Server

php upgrade problems again

Adam

php upgrade problems again
« on: October 08, 2001, 05:53:56 AM »
Ok here I go again using dan browns updated php upgrade...(found on mailing list). I did verbatim what was asked ]
download packages.
[root@e-smith /root]# cd /path/to/downloaded/files
[root@e-smith /root]# rpm -Uvh *
[root@e-smith /root]# pico /etc/php.ini
display_errors and set that to Off. (did that as well)
Since I am new to linux and pico i did control X to save and exit and wrote file as php.ini in the /etc/ directory.
And I am **pretty sure** I restarted my web server

Cool great run my little phpinfo script..
ok php works ldap mysql etc working great.
Add phpmyadmin and get it working
I add my website (myphpnuke based)
cool every thing works
Several hours later i go to look up my web site and nothing but a blank page.
So run phpinfo script again.
ok php works....
but no mysql, ldap..etc.
Ok hit the shell
rpm -q php...-mysql. i686 (shortened )
rpm not installed
same thing with ldap, msql, etc. and the php 4.06 packages downloaded. but phpinfo shows 4.06-10.
I have no idea whats going on. This was on a fresh install.. I dont beleive I had updated the blades to the second fix.
Also is it possible that by not restarting the web server that these things are working.

**** some additional info**** All rpms were dl's to a windoze box and then ftp'd in binary form to server.
****server info***
p3 450 mhz 1 gig ram 18 gig 10,000 rpm seagate scsi hard drive.
stand realtek network card working great.

The support here is great and I hope that i have provided enough info. I hope I can get this updated because I want to use things like my e- gallery and such. Thanks again.

Dan Brown

Re: php upgrade problems again
« Reply #1 on: October 08, 2001, 06:10:06 AM »
So you're saying that at one point, phpinfo showed all the modules working, and later, without changing anything, it doesn't?  Doesn't make much sense.