Koozali.org: home of the SME Server

RADIUS for beginners

Offline KeeWee

• +0/-0
RADIUS for beginners
« on: September 04, 2007, 12:12:28 PM »

OK, it has me beat.  I'm no Linux expert and only installed SME Server because it claims you don't have to be to use it, but SME's implementation of RADIUS has me beat.

I know radiusd is running but I can't add anything to the raddb clients.conf file because it tells me not to because (I assume) it's configured by an e-smith template.  So how do I add clients and secrets to radius?  There's nothing on the Admin web-page, nothing in the manual, I haven't even found anything on Google.

Offline stephen noble

• +1/-0
    • Dungog
Re: RADIUS for beginners
« Reply #1 on: September 04, 2007, 02:49:42 PM »
if there isn't a panel interface there may be a db command interface

run
slocate clients.conf

look in the relevant files for clues

and check the devguide for specifics of templates, and events
http://ftp.surfnet.nl/ftp/pub/os/Linux/distr/smeserver/contribs/gordonr/devguide/html/c610.htm

Offline slords

• +3/-0
« Reply #2 on: September 04, 2007, 05:11:32 PM »
What exactly are you attempting to do.  How are you wanting to use the radius server?
"Programming today is a race between software engineers striving to build bigger and better idiot-proof programs,
and the Universe trying to produce bigger and better idiots. So far, the Universe is winning." -- Rich Cook

Offline KeeWee

• +0/-0
« Reply #3 on: September 05, 2007, 10:04:49 AM »
What exactly are you attempting to do.  How are you wanting to use the radius server?

I'm doing my best to run a small - 8 subscriber - community-owned, non-profit wireless network bringing tolerable internet to a very remote community in New Zealand because our only alternative is dialup that can only manage 2.5kbps downhill with the wind behind it and falls over every ten minutes.  I'm actually a marine farmer but have occasionally toyed with Linux, which makes me the local IT expert.