Koozali.org: home of the SME Server

sme server ver 7.1 is it file server stable

Offline purvis

• +0/-0
« on: March 06, 2007, 09:44:01 PM »
hello to all
i am a newbie to sme linux,  but i played around with version 6 in the past.
but now is the time since our office has gone fully to windows nt 2000 to implement a true file server.
i am always on the trailing end of operating systems but what i need in systems is stabilty.
sme server ver 7 will allow me to setup a email server easily and it  has basically most of what i wanted.
but i really would like to get my server files off of a windows 2000 workstation computer that i actually just use as a server.
i am really scared about the placing my files on linux server which i know little about, and sme server seems like a good choice.
i have read some post on this site of how people have lost data, some have lost it all. some have tried to skimp to doing things correctly(safely) and paid the cost. one reason for using the sme server is the raid, i am only interested in raid1 only.
my question is this, should i trust sme server to my files, should i trust the server to go down and come backup with my data?
how can it get the data transferrd off drives if the operating system does not come back, and should i trust software raid1 built into sme server 7.
i would like to use the new sata drives and usb drives for backup without a
lot of fuss.
do i need to use a previous version prior to ver 7.1 that has the redhat linux as oppose to cent-os linux for a file server, once again i plan on using the email part of sme server v 7.1 on its own computer.
there are less than 10 people that would be using the file server.
there would be about 40 people using the email server.

i did not know of the convention that just passed, i wish i could have been there.
thanks in advance paul

Offline idp_qbn

• +0/-0
« Reply #1 on: March 06, 2007, 10:29:19 PM »
Hi Purvis,